Who took the cookie from the cookie jar Cinematographer Pre-production Journal

Summary

We managed future work on our Trello board and talked about the film. I created and then completed my mood board. We found a filming location and worked on test shots. We rehearsed scenes, filmed shots, and recorded sound. Every day after recording sound and visuals, we downloaded them to send to our editor, who kept them to use to make the final product.

52. Wide-Angle

58. Close-Up

60. Two shot

Test Shots

I used these two different lenses, one changes length, and the other changed focus. We started out with very primitive test shots and adapted to suit the room.

Lighting Tests

For one of our lights, it’s better to keep it on a chair than on a pole (labeled as light 1). We also need three additional lights, one overhead (labeled as light 4), one behind Griffin 2 (labeled as light 2), and one behind Griffin 1 (labeled as light 3) in the next image.

Equipment Checklist

  1. Camera
  2. Tripod
  3. Audio recorder
  4. Boom mic
  5. Lighting block x3
  6. Shot list
  7. Script x2

Collaboration with Director

I was able to negotiate with the director concerning camera angle and distance. However, concerning locations, we all discussed locations together and settled for the back room.
The director told me where to put the lights and I agreed with him on his decisions.

Set-up Sequence Workflow

While everyone else was gathering their own equipment and setting up set, I was grabbing a camera and tripod. Sometimes I would help gather equipment after I finished.
Then I would help set up lights and the camera
The director would give me directions on where and how to film, and after both of us were satisfied with the shots, we would wrap up the equipment, and then go back to our desks to download files and allow the editor to work on making the film.

Map of Each Location

C=Camera, Rectangle=Desk, Box on wall=Door
SC=Stationary Camera, C=Camera, –>=Motion, ZC=Zoom Camera
L=Light, OL=Overhead Light
1/2/3=Actor, –>=Movement, X=Killed
–>=Directed attention, 1/2/3=actor

Storyboard Notation

What I learned

I learned that I need to get more evidence of me doing my job instead of doing my job. A problem I solved was using camera angles to make up for a lack of actors during the assignment where we had to record a rough draft of a rough draft of our film without editing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *